The Book Corner

It’s Only the Himalayas, by S.Bedford

“Obviously it wasn’t perfect, because nothing ever is, but … that was the beauty of it. It was the challenges that made it an adventure”

Following Sue on her year long adventure had me laughing every few pages. I have never read a book that I could relate to as well as this. A twenty-something female, unsure of what to do next and generally just feeling lost in the world. She perfectly sums up the highs and the lows of travel & after reading this book I’m now itching to get backpacking again.

This book has been great at showing me that you may not have your future set in stone in front of you, but it doesn’t mean you can’t have fun meandering your way through, enjoying every moment. (Unless you’re throwing up after eating dodgy soup whilst climbing The Himalayas!) Your twenties are the time to explore the world, to create memories & to “find yourself” (or to learn to love yourself, just as you are). I’ve come away from reading this book feeling like I’m ready to grab life by the balls and start living it. As Jack Kerouac famously once said “climb that god damn mountain” – although I’m not going to bite off more than I can chew, I’ll probably start with a hill before I tackle the Himalayas.

I’m hoping this isn’t the last we hear from Sue. I’m sure she has plenty more hilarious antidotes to share with us! Definitely worth a read

One thought on “It’s Only the Himalayas, by S.Bedford

Leave a Reply

